Gruber Cosmology Prize 2012 for WMAP!

On 22 June, 2012, in People, by admin

The 2012 Gruber cosmology prize has been awarded to Chuck Bennett and the Wilkinson Microwave Anisotropy Probe (WMAP) team. Hiranya is thrilled to share this honour with such an amazing group of people!

Credit: NASA/WMAP Science Team

The citation reads:

The Gruber Foundation proudly presents the 2012 Cosmology Prize to Charles Bennett and the Wilkinson Microwave Anisotropy Probe team for their exquisite measurements of anisotropies in the relic radiation from the Big Bang—the Cosmic Microwave Background. These measurements have helped to secure rigorous constraints on the origin, content, age, and geometry of the Universe, transforming our current paradigm of structure formation from appealing scenario into precise science.

Other Members of the WMAP team are:
Chris Barnes, Rachel Bean, Olivier Doré, Joanna Dunkley, Benjamin M. Gold, Michael Greason, Mark Halpern, Robert Hill, Gary F. Hinshaw, Norman Jarosik, Alan Kogut, Eiichiro Komatsu, David Larson, Michele Limon, Stephan S. Meyer, Michael R. Nolta, Nils Odegard, Lyman Page, Hiranya V. Peiris, Kendrick Smith, David N. Spergel, Greg S. Tucker, Licia Verde, Janet L. Weiland, Edward Wollack, and Edward L. (Ned) Wright.

See the Gruber Foundation website for further details.


Comments are closed.